Articles in Taxonomy

Forgiving road

Areas of Expertise (1)

>>
|

About one fifth of all traffic accidents in Belgium are collisions with obstacles off the carriageway. Generally a single vehicle is involved in these.

However, there is a considerable difference in severity of the consequences of such accidents. The risk of death after a collision with an obstacle off the carriageway is at least twice as high as the average risk of being killed in a traffic accident. And the risk of serious injuries is still at least 60 % higher than on average.

The consequences of a collision of a passenger car with an obstacle off the carriageway are, therefore, much more serious. To prevent such accidents, the full range of available measures can and must be used. However, it is doubtful whether all these awareness or even penalizing actions can exclude all accidents. Even the most careful driver is liable to be overcome by fatigue or to make a driving error at some time.

The “forgiving road” approach aims not only to prevent accidents, but also to lay out the road in an intelligent way such that (unintentional) driving errors are not immediately punished by serious injuries or worse.

Ideally there should be no obstacles along the road. When this is not feasible, it can be investigated how to place or re-place them so as to minimize the risk of collision. Another option is to use so-called breakaway or collapsible obstacles. Only when removal, re-placing or the breakaway alternative are not feasible, suitable restraint systems can be considered. In such cases the remedy must not be worse than the evil, i.e., the restraint system must not form a dangerous obstacle by itself.

There is no standard recipe for laying out forgiving roads. When (re)developing a road, it is always advisable to make sure that the choices made will not have any adverse consequences, even in the long term, for (unintentionally) errant vehicles. Measures to make a road more “forgiving” are generally relatively simple and immediately effective.

Linked documents 
Contact:

Articles in Taxonomy

La route qui pardonne

Domaines de travail (1)

>>
|

En Belgique, environ 16 % des accidents de la route sont des collisions avec des obstacles situés en dehors de la chaussée. Ils impliquent généralement un seul véhicule.

Il y a néanmoins une différence sensible au niveau de la gravité des conséquences de ce type d’accidents. Le risque de décès suite à une collision avec un obstacle situé en dehors de la chaussée est environ deux fois plus élevé que le risque de décès lors d’un accident de la circulation. Le risque de lésions graves suite à un accident de ce type est toujours 60 % plus élevé que la moyenne.

Les conséquences d’une collision entre une voiture particulière et un obstacle situé en dehors de la chaussée sont donc bien plus graves. Pour prévenir ces accidents, toute une série de mesures peuvent et doivent continuer à être mises en oeuvre. Il n’est toutefois pas certains que ces actions de sensibilisation ou même de sanction permettront d’éviter tous les accidents. Même le conducteur le plus attentif peut être vaincu par la fatigue et commettre une erreur de conduite.

L’approche de la route qui pardonne ne vise pas à éviter les accidents. En aménageant de manière intelligente la route et ses environs, on souhaite néanmoins éviter que les fautes de conduite (non voulues) ne soient immédiatement pénalisées par des lésions graves ou pire encore.

Eviter les obstacles qui peuvent être percutés est sans aucun doute la meilleure des mesures à prendre. Malheureusement, cette option n’est souvent pas possible. Le cas échéant, on peut envisager de déplacer ces obstacles afin de diminuer le risque de collision, ou l’on peut opter pour les constructions de sécurité passive. S’il n’est vraiment pas possible d’enlever ou de déplacer l’obstacle, ou de le remplacer par une alternative plus sûre, il faut alors envisager l’installation d’une protection adéquate. Dans ce cas, il faut s’assurer que le remède n’est pas pire que le mal; en d’autres mots, la protection ne peut pas être elle-même un obstacle dangereux.

Il n’existe pas de recette standard pour l’aménagement d’une route qui pardonne. Lors de l’aménagement ou du réaménagement, il faut surtout porter son attention sur une série de choix qui peuvent à long terme avoir des conséquences sur les suites d’une sortie de route non voulue. Intervenir sur l’infrastructure pour obtenir une route qui pardonne est généralement assez simple et donne des résultats immédiats.

Documents liés 
Contact: